Rogliano, Cosenza, Calabria

Rogliano is situated aprrox. 700 metres above sea level in the province of Cosenza. It has a population of over 5000 people, which is very large in comparison to some of the other towns nearby including its neighbour Carpanzano. There were many occasions during my recent trip to Italy when we would zip over to Rogliano (only 10 minutes away) to do a little shopping at the weekly mercato, fare una passeggiata (take a walk) or participate in the many events that take place there over the summer. The town has schools, museums, restaurants, shops, and pretty much anything else you would expect in a small city. You can see the town’s rich history all around you as you walk through its centro storico and visit the many churches, monasteries and noble homes some of which date back to the 1500s. The town is also growing at a rapid pace, with new apartments and condo’s being built around the towns edge. If you happen to be in Rogliano, stop in to “L’Arte Orafa” on Via A. Guarasci. This little family-owned jewellery shop is home to some very beautifully handcrafted pieces of jewellery made with silver, gold, and gemstones. A perfect place to get something unique for you or someone special back home. Rogliano is another one of those great small towns tucked away in the Calabrian mountains with it’s unique history, great nightlife, friendly people, and Southern Italian pride!

20 Comments

Filed under Calabria, Cosenza, Italia, Italian, Travel

20 responses to “Rogliano, Cosenza, Calabria

  1. Bel ragazzos mum works at the primary school in Rogliano, and I too have been there a few times to get some stuff sorted.

  2. Laura Sevenich Hancock

    My grandfather was born in Rogliano. His name was Francesco Guiseppe Salvino. He came to America when he was 16. I am not sure of the year. I am looking for anyone of his family still living there. He settled in Leetonia, but his sister, settled in Chicago.

  3. Katherine Gerace Moskal

    My grandfather was born in Rogliano as well. His name was Giuseppe Gerace. He was born in 1891 and came to America in June of 1907 when he was 16. The family settled in New York City. My understanding is that he had an older brother who was not on the quota list to come to America so he went to Argentina. I’m wondering if there is any other family still in Rogliano or Cosenza.

    Katherine, have you tried searching for a Rogliano Facebook group? You may be able to use that as a starting point to track down potential family members. I hope this blog helps you in your search! :)

  4. Pingback: Guest Post: Is English corrupting the Italian language? « Calabrisella Mia

  5. Tony

    I came over fromRolgiano when I was 6. It’s a vibrant town where everyone strolls in the evenings in the Piazza. I’m positive your family is still there…. no one leaves!

  6. Pete

    My parents are from Rogliano. My uncle (mom’s brother) lived in Bay Ridge, Brooklyn before he died. We knews lots of Gerace’s both in Italy and in Brooklyn.

  7. Lorenzo

    Hi, I moved from Rogliano when I was 11 only 9 years ago. My family moved to England to be with the rest who came in 60’s. Many of my family are still there and as Tonys says no leaves. Gerace one of the common roglianese names so I can guarantee someone is still there! I love it and would move back any day, it’s my home. Ciao e baci a tutti

  8. My great grandafther was Filippo Poalo Salvino, born October 21, 1861 Rogliano, Italy. Father was Francesco Salvino born 1826. I have all of his records but he returned to Rogliano in 1929 where he died and is buried. I believe his grave site in on the church property of St. George’s (Giorgio) Cathlolic Church. Can anyone identify the location of this church in Rogliana.

  9. Bev

    I am looking for anyone that may have heard of the Sicilia and
    Rocca. Santa Rocca and Giavonni Sicilia were his grandparents. Giavonni was born 23 June 1879. They were from poor families and could not read or write. In 1900
    Giavonni left his wife Santa and small baby Maria and Carmino, walking to Naples in order to take a ship to America. He did not return for 8 years. But he had started a new life in Minnesota. He came back to bring his family to America. He had plan to return right away but became pregnant and soon he
    had a son Camen. They finally did go to America hoping for a very process life. But after more children Santa and one child died of the influences in 1917 in Hibbing, Mn. I hope someone knows of the family. My husband and I were in Italy in 2003 but we couldn’t make it to Cosenza. I would love to return and spend some time in Cosenza and hopefully meet his family. John was a wonderful person and so was his mother Maria.

  10. Pingback: My 7 Links | Calabrisella Mia

  11. Dorothy Sicilia Stewart

    to Bev. My daughter’s mother-in-law has traced our Sicilia family back to Giuseppe Sicilia, born about 1733 and died Oct. 6, 1789 in Rogliano. My grandfather Gaspare Santo Sicilia was born June 7, 1882 in Rogliano and died in Canastota, NY in about 1930. We have details on the family from 1733 on but are still filling in spots. There was a John Sicilia who married Frances ??? and had one daughter Mary who was voted around 1950 as one of the most prominent women in Rochester, NY. I will copy your note and send it to my daughter’s mother-in-law.
    Dorothy

  12. rita

    this message is for sharon carfora my name is rita tucci married name colacino i was born and raised at rogliano san giorgio is the place were i spent a lot of my years as a teenager i was there 3 years ago my cousin livesr across from the church

  13. nunzio tiano

    MY NAME IS NUNZIO TIANO,I COME FROM THE TOWN NEXT TO ROGLIANO, MARZI. IF YOU NEED INFORMATION ON YOUR RELATIVES IF THERE ARE SOME LEFT AT ROGLIANO,YOU SHOULD GET IN TOUCH WITH THE ” MUNICIPIO DI ROGLIANO’ (THIS IS THE TOWN HALL- CITY HALL) IF YOU HAVE TROUBLE GETTING CITY HALL YOU CAN CONTACT ME AND I WILL TRY TO GET SOMEONE TO GO AND GET YOU INFORMATION.MY EMAIL IS nunzio_tiano@yahoo.com .

  14. Dorothy S. Stewart

    Dear Nunzio,

    My family – the Sicilias – all come from Rogliano. My daughter’s mother-in-law has traced the family back to a Guiseppe Sicilia, born about 1733, died Oct. 6, 1789. Do you happen to know if there are any Sicilias still living in the area?

    Dorothy Sicilia Stewart
    latinlogos@austin.rr.com

  15. peter gerace

    hi! katerine, my name is pietro gerace da Rogliano, i leave in long island, N.Y. i come in the USA 1954, i goin back every sommer there.
    my eamail rogliano1@optonline.net
    ciao peter

  16. Chris Peterson

    My great grandparents also came from Rogliano; Guiseppe Perri who married Isabella Gabrieli.
    Whole lotta’ Joe’s in that village back then, eh?

  17. Jon Tucci

    Hello, my name is Jon Tucci, love the article. My grandfather, Angelo Antonio Tucci, and grandmother, Erminia Salvino, born in Rogliano, came to America between 1907-1908. I would love to meet other family members still living in Rogliano. jontucci5@msn.com, West Virginia, USA

  18. Laura Sevenich Sobotka

    Dear Jon, My grandfather, Frank J. Salvino, came to the US when he was 16. I know he had a number of sisters in Italy. One of his sisters immigrated to Chicago. He was on the train to Chicago, the train stopped in Leetonia. He got off to get a beer, and he never made it to Chicago. He found work in the Coke Ovens. Does any of that sound familiar to you?

  19. Jon Tucci

    I don’t know, the Salvino’s were a large group of families. I wish I had a genealogical listing of the family trees. That would be the only way to declare siblings and other family histories. Most of my family members stayed in NY for a decade or so, then migrated to Pennsylvania and West Virginia to open grocery stores.

  20. VolcanicDiva

    Hello everyone!
    My name is Melanie Greco and my grandfather is Rogliano and his name is Guiseppe Greco, born Sept. 12, 1886. My grandmother is from Zumpano and she is Rose Bisceglia (sometimes spelled Besceglia).
    I am planning to go to Italy this Easter and hope to go to Rogliano and Zumpano!
    Will update this site.
    Ciao!
    Melanie

Leave a Reply

