When I Grow Up…

I remember once in grade school our class took one of those career tests. You know, the ones that tell you what you should do with your life based on a ridiculous number of seemingly pointless questions. According to my answers, I was supposed to grow up and be either a Private Investigator, a Journalist, or a Social Worker. I guess I can see how they could all be related. So I went to University determined to be a Psychologist. I was a good listener, I wanted to help people, and for some reason people always seemed to come to me for advice. As fascinating as it was, I couldn’t see myself as a Psychologist years down the road. With this new realization I moved into “Mass Communications” (whatever that means) and eventually found myself in the music industry working as a publicist. When I looked back at it, my career test wasn’t completed wrong. As a publicist you need to write on a deadline (like a Journalist), and nurture fragile artists’ soul (kind of like a Social Worker). After a couple years, I came to the realization that even though I love to write and I love music; the music industry as a whole just wasn’t for me.

So I guess you can say I’m sort of back to square one, rethinking my career choices and wondering what it is I’m really meant to do with my life. I would be really curious to see what my career test would tell me now. Would the results come up the same? One thing is certain, I learned and experienced a lot during my stint as a publicist that I can carry with me in any future career — but more importantly I came to realize just how much I really enjoy writing.

Did you know what you wanted to be when you grew up right from the beginning? Or have you sort of bounced around a bit to finally settle in a career choice that you are happy with? Or are you still on that journey? I’d love to hear your story!🙂

3 thoughts on “When I Grow Up…

  1. I took a career test once. The only career choice that it gave me as a result was “philanthropist.” Why was that even an option on the test anyway?

  2. I took a career test in grade school….were I to have taken its advice to heart, I would be driving a taxi right now. Or a bus. Apparently, I had great potential in the public transportation sector.

    Thankfully, over the years I’ve decided what I really want to be when I grow up (diplomat/human rights advocate), and I’m headed to graduate school to make it happen🙂

    Ya, you have to take those career tests with a grain of salt🙂 It’s great that you’ve found your calling…best of luck on your career path!!🙂

  3. We had an older friend years ago who was a very successful grain dealer in the midwest… but though he made bundles of money, it was not a job he loved. So he took a career test and discovered that he wasn’t a grain dealer, he was… an uphosterer! He apprenticed himself to an established practitioner, learned the ropes, went into business for himself and had a successful and personally rewarding second career. I don’t know why we always found that amusing, but we did.

Leave a Reply

